English and German tutor with more than 3 years of experience

Van Linh TP Hồ Chí Minh

Hello,

My Name is Linh. I’m a German of Vietnamese descent, who just recently decided  to live in Vietnam permanently. Apart from English and German, I speak and write decent Vietnamese as I’ve studied the language in university as part of my minor for 3 years.

I got a B.A. in English Studies from the University of Bonn, Germany. During my studies i focused on linguistics (pragmatics, semantics, word-formation, applied & corpus linguistics), and literary studies. Apart from these fields I’m also experienced in the field of text-translation (English-German / German-English; German-Vietnamese / Vietnamese-German).

My teaching experience comprises 2 years of tutoring high- and secondary school students in Germany; almost a year of teaching immigrants and refugees voluntarily; and 2 months of teaching Vietnamese students in Ben Tre, Vietnam.

I’m looking for another teaching-related job in addition to my regular job at a German-language school. As I already have a steady job, I’m not looking for great monetary gains in exchange for my tutoring (the salary demands ought to reflect that). I love teaching, and i like being able to positively impact the lives of my students.

Looking forward to working with you.

Kinh nghiệm

[Autumn 2019 -- present] : German teacher at Phuong Nam Education, Ho-Chi-Minh-City, Vietnam. Class size: 5 to 15 students. [Winter 2017 to Spring 2017]: Volunteer English teacher for Vietnamese students (1st to 12th grade). At Hermann Gmeiner School in Ben Tre, Vietnam (work mediated through AIESEC). Class sizes: 40 to 50 students. [Summer 2016 to Winter 2017]: Volunteer German teacher for Syrian immigrants/ refugees. - At Flüchtlingsheim Köln-Höhenhaus, Cologne, Germany. Class size: 10-15 people. [Autumn 2013 to Summer 2015]: Private English and German tutor for German High- and Secondary-school students, in addition to my university studies. - At Schülernachhilfe Köln-Dellbrück, Cologne, Germany. Usually teaching 1 to 5 students at a time.

Sơ yếu lý lịch

2013 - 2019 _ B.A. English Studies (major)/ South East Asian Studies (minor) - University of Bonn, Germany. (3.2 GPA) - Title of Bachelor Thesis: Finding Evidence for colloquialization and de-colloquialialization in 19th and 20th century English: A corpus-based analysis of the phrasal verb particles "down" and "back". (Grade: 3.7)

Phong cách giảng dạy

I usually give lessons for teenagers and adults ranging from 15 to 50 years old. I try to incorporate as much exercises on speaking as possible. Furthermore, I like to fix grammar and pronunciation mistakes. While strict in that regard, I teach with a friendly and comfortable style and composition. I like to corporate games (e.g. dice or word/picture games) as well as various media into the teaching. I try to teach exclusively in English or German, but can switch to Vietnamese, in order to explain certain exercises and constructions too, if that is prefered by the learner.

Đăng nhận xét mới

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *

Contact us